Masters Running

What Is a Hero? (Veterans Day talk) (Read 432 times)

I am no hero, and no Demosthenes either, but here is my talk to the local high school for those who asked. Dark Horse * * * WHAT IS A HERO? Veterans Day Talk at Newburyport High School by Tim Hanke Thank you for inviting me here today. Back in the day, when dinosaurs walked the earth, I was a student here in Newburyport just like you. I wanted to go to Newburyport High School, but didn’t get the chance. I went to the old Currier Junior High School on Forrester Street, which is now a professional building with doctors’ offices. The summer before my freshman year of high school, my family moved to New York State. Twenty-four years went by, and when I had a family of my own, I moved back to Newburyport. Now my older son Jack is a sophomore here at the high school, and my younger son Ben is a seventh-grader at the Nock Middle School. On Veterans Day here in Newburyport, I want to ask the question, what is a hero? In the eyes of many people, certainly many people in the Army, the quintessential hero is a Medal of Honor Winner. Let me tell you a few things about the Medal of Honor. The Congressional Medal of Honor is the highest military award in our nation. There are 300 million people in this country, and the Medal of Honor is not awarded every year, so you get an idea of how rare it is, and how few people get it. In fact, most people who get the Medal of Honor are dead. These individuals did something remarkably brave in combat, and they got killed, and the Medal of Honor is handed to their wife, or their mom and dad, and the lucky winner never even knows he got the Medal of Honor. When I was a kid back in the 1960s, living in a small town in Connecticut, all the schools were let out one day so the kids could line Main Street for a parade. A young man from our town, who must have been a soldier in the Vietnam War, because that was the war going on at the time, had won the Medal of Honor, and somehow