Masters Running

My running path got narrower... a trail race RR (Read 281 times)

Mariposai

The short version: First trail iron race for my butterfly wings…21.7 miles (22.14 per my garmin). The Sunflower Relay and Iron Event takes place in the lovely Methow Valley, WA. The trail begins at 1900 feet, with two climbs to 2600 feet and a quick drop to the finish line at about 1600 feet. My goal: to finish it under 5:00 hours. Finish Time: 4:46:21 Fashion report: New Balance Capri tights, Eugene 2007 finisher shirt, Eugene cap, butterfly earrings, earth tone lipstick and Red Door perfume. The long version:-warning this is long... I have known about this event for many years, but I never felt I was fit enough to tackle it since the course has a huge elevation gain and a mean descent to the finish line. But after all my winter training this year I felt that I was ready to spread my wings and try to iron the event, even when I just ran a marathon two weeks ago. So, I studied the course, the elevation gain and losses and crafted a plan that would work for me. My goal was to just aim at running from one leg of the race to the next (somehow my mind was accepting this idea over the idea of running 22 miles so soon after a marathon). My plan was well imprinted in my memory, so this morning when it came time to implement it, I was ready for it. The Course This unique course begins at 1900 feet elevation in Mazama and includes deer trails, cow paths, bike routes and paved roads. I took in stunning views of the Methow River, North Cascades and Chelan Sawtooths and flower carpeted meadows and fields. At two points racers climb to 2600 feet and drop quickly to the finish at about 1600 feet in Twisp. Total race length is 21.7 miles. The Scenery was absolutely breath taking (sorry no pictures, I forgot my camera in the car) The balsam roots, blue bells, penstemon, and others were at their best as if they were showing off and giving their “salud” to the runner. I saw several deer, a g