Masters Running

Good Grief! Not ANOTHER Boston race report! (Read 551 times)

Marathon Maniac #957

With so many great Boston reports to read, I’ll not be offended if you just skim and run… Smile Saturday we spent 12 hours in transit, due to mechanical difficulties and flight snafus (got a $200 voucher for our trouble, though), but got to our hotel around 4pm, walked the “just 10 minute walk” (9 blocks) to the Expo, wandered around, ran into Erika (woohoo!), then back to the hotel to drop our loot and find our way to Lou and Harriet’s daughter’s house for a great Boomer meeting. Finally meeting the Boomers that I have been posting with and reading about for several years was simply amazing. These people REALLY are extremely kind, funny, compassionate, witty, and charming in person – even my DH was impressed with how nice everyone was. And the beer was OUTSTANDING! Here’s Erika and Harriet (PDR): Here’s Dove: The Pro with Lou: Hugs from Bob (Btb), who brought flowers for Amanda: The next day we walked “just 10 minutes” (16 blocks) to watch the women’s Olympic trials, back to the Prudential Center to get Duck tickets (9 blocks) when the ticket booth opened, then back to the trials (9 more blocks), stood watching and cheering until the end (2 hours), then back to the Prudential Center for lunch (yup, 9 more), than did the Duck tour, then the Skywalk, then walked back to the hotel (9 blocks again). You getting the picture here? Here’s Perch, Bob, and me: Here’s Tim (wa5yom), me, and (Aamos) Amy (I am SUCH a huge fan of hers): Here’s Bob, the LongSuffering Mrs. PBJ, PBJ, and PBJ, Jr.(Isn't he adorable?): Race morning: I got on the shuttle with Lou and Harriet and Perch and babbled nervously the whole way (yes, I’m afraid that I’m a babbler). For whatever reason, our shuttles dropped us off at the 1 mile mark, and we walked back the start, separating in the crowd and going our own ways, then beyond that to the Athlete’s Village until it was time to get into the corrals.