Pickens County Y Race Team

I did something I've never done before and I liked it (Read 8 times)

Guys! Guys! I've been moonlighting at CrossFit. OK. More than moonlighting. I actually love it!  Anyway, I signed up for a power lifting competition back in December because I'm getting old and I want to collect as many athletic experiences as I can before my hips go out and other weird stuff starts to happen.

I competed yesterday with a handful of other CFE women. It WAS AMAZEBALLS! If you've never seen a 150# man back squat 600# then I urge you to check it out! Weightlifting, schmatelifting...It's not everyone's bag for sure, but their athleticism is undeniable. And amazing.

Anyway, I no-repped each of my back squat attempts because I was a train-wreck. My nerves were so bad- I thought I was going to blow my protein drink all over the judge. He would have hated that, probably. And it would have only aided in the embarrassment I was already feeling wearing a stupid wrestling singlet. Stupid singlet.

Back squat. Fail. But I still had bench and deadlift. Cool.

I no-repped my first bench press because I didn't follow the rules and wait for my commands...oh. Whoops. At his point I'm fairly certain everyone in the crowd was like, "Um. Go home." The next two went smooth and I was finally on the board!

Deadlift next. I opened at 235#. Easy. 250# Easy. My next lift was a PR at 270#. EASY!

I was moved to the Push/Pull category because of the squat fiasco and ended up taking first place in my weight class. Excitement!

Will I do more...dunno. I'm not strong like bull. More like, strong like a really powerful mere cat. The alpha mere cat. And I'm cool with that, you know.

pschriver

Congratulations,

I'm not 100% sure power lifting is the best way to preserve your hip joints but if you enjoy it , Rock On.

tweisner