Running-Wizard

Got a plan, but no race (Read 27 times)

The wife and I are trying to sell our house so we can move to the Olympic Peninsula. Not knowing how long we're going to be here in NC makes it tough to plan for anything four weeks away, let alone twenty-four (Side note: anyone want to buy a house in a nice small town just north of Greensboro?). I got a plan anyway (Marathon, 24-week, with an ambitious but maybe possible goal), figuring I could just follow the base-building phase until we're settled in our new home sometime this summer or fall or winter or spring or who knows.

The plan is seven days a week, which I've never done before but thought I'd give a shot. So far I'm at day thirty and feeling good!

Since I don't have a race and I'm streaking for the first time, what adjustments should I make to the plan? Or is this a bad idea, and if so is there a Holding Pattern plan or some equivalent out there?

What about picking a race near family/relatives?? That way no matter where you happen to be twenty four weeks from now you have an reason to go and visit someone and run your race in the same trip....

good luck with your plan! i upped my training to six days a week and am a bit overwhelmed, but had such good results with my 5K plan i am willing to trust in the training!

I don't think you should make any adjustments - I guess your theoretical race would be in October, and there are plenty of fall marathons to pick from whenever your plans become clearer. I know the megaraces like Chicago will sell out (or already sold out) but I'm sure you can find a smaller race to jump into. Christirei has a good idea to visit relatives.

If it happens that you follow the plan all the way to October and then can't do a marathon until a bit later, you can always extend your fitness using the race week/non-race-week schedules. I think Nobby says you can maintain racing fitness for something like 6 or 8 weeks using these schedules...

That's what I'd do, anyway!