Trailer Trash

100-Miler questions (Read 84 times)

FTYC

Faster Than Your Couch!

I am considering registering for a 100-miler in early October (Oil Creek 100), but I am not sure if I'm ready.

So I have some questions for our experienced 100-mile pros:

- How many miles per week for what period did you run before your first 100 (is this different from the next 100-milers)?

Recommendations?

- In how much pain (physically, from "overuse" or from the exhaustion) were you after the run, and how long did it take to recover from that?

- What is more challenging, the distance (physical exhaustion), or the mental barrier? (and what, specifically, was your greatest mental obstacle?)

- How much night running before the race do you recommend? Weekly? How long, when in the night?

I'm a scaredycat, should I run with a buddy at night (I have done some night runs alone, and at some point, there was always that irrational fear of everything, and the only thing saving me was the thought of DH being somewhere waiting for me within an hour or so)? How do you cope with that in training?

- Is warm food better in the night, or just the same ol' stuff that you take during the day?

I am sure I'll have at least 95 more questions (which makes it 100, one for each mile run), but for now, I appreciate every input and experience.

Run for fun.

XtremeTaper

Hey Couch... looking forward to your next 95 questions. I am only a 2 time 100 mile finisher so my experience is limited.

- How many miles per week for what period did you run before your first 100 (is this different from the next 100-milers)?

Recommendations?

I was running 60-90 mpw during training with the occasional cutback week. Back then 45-55 was a cutback for me. I had been running this mileage for a few years I suppose.

- In how much pain (physically, from "overuse" or from the exhaustion) were you after the run, and how long did it take to recover from that?