Trailer Trash

A Noob Convert; Shoe Question (Read 50 times)

hog4life

I went on my 2nd trail run this morning, and face planted in the mud. Sound about right? Dam enablers.....

I was invited to this group, and it was suggested to ask my question here. I typically wear Brooks and Mizuno for the wider toe box. Without telling me to go to the LRS, what trail shoes are comparable? I also wear a stability model, are trail shoes classed the same?

Thanks for the input.

Mitch

NorthernHarrier

Welcome,   I'm not very good at suggesting shoes as everyone has a different stride, biomechanics, tastes' and trail types they run.

I guess first off I would say that it is fine to run trails in some road shoes. Sometimes they can even work as good or better.  And second- many of us here have quite a collection of trail shoes in our active rotation and we still manage to do some real nice face plants too. Main thing on face plants are to not fight it as you are going down but learn to kind of roll to soften the impact.

As far as Brooks and Mizuno--I know a lot of people here like the Brooks Cascadia line. My daughter has a pair that she really likes. I had one pair of Mizuno trail shoes and while I can't remember which model off the top of my head I do remember that I thought they kinda sucked for me.

MadisonMandy

Refurbished Hip

Hey, Mitch!  Glad to see you over here Smile

I can only answer for women's shoes, but I imagine models would be similar between genders.  I have a wide foot and I wear Montrail Mountain Masochists for most of my trail running.  And like I said before, Pearl Izumis tend to be popular and run wide.  I tried a pair of Cascadias a while back (many models ago) and didn't like the feel of them, but yeah, lots of people love them.