Trailer Trash

A good 50 for a beginner? (Read 458 times)

Hey all-

I'm putting together my goals for next year, and one of them is a 50 miler. Though I want to complete my first 50k in May first, I was wondering if east coasters have rec's for a good 50M? I'm not opposed to a hilly race....but keep in mind I am still a newbie. 

I considered JFK but the marathon on the tow path part doesn't sound exciting to me at all. I'm interested in something with more trails. 

Occasional Runner

Finger Lakes 50 would be a great choice for you. I've run it twice and had a lot of fun both times. 

Bull Run Run is great too. It has a good mix of terrain but no extreme stuff. But that race is too early in the year for what you want. 

Finger Lakes 50 would be a great choice for you. I've run it twice and had a lot of fun both times. 

Bull Run Run is great too. It has a good mix of terrain but no extreme stuff. But that race is too early in the year for what you want. 

I just read your race report for Finger Lakes, looks like a race I can handle.  Only 4 hours away from me, not bad. I will definitely consider it. The only thing that worries me is that heat triggers my asthma, so I would have to be super careful with a July ultra. 

BTW, I used to live in Manayunk too, but before Lucky's Last Chance was there. I will need to check it out some time after a race, that burger looks awesome!

jonferg67

Endless trails

I think we have similar goals for 2013, I'm doing a 50K in April. I have my eye on this 

50Miler, but it's not until November. I don't have experience with the course, but it's

in Ipswich, MA. I've heard good things about the race from the Trail Animal Running
          Club folks.

https://sites.google.com/site/stonecattrailraces/race-info

DoppleBock

JFK would be a zoo + mostly a flat road race. 

I would think you owe it to yourself to get a wonderful experience - Like Finger Lakes

If you lived in WI - I would recommend Ice Age 50 in May. 

Why ?