Trailer Trash

Tics (Read 42 times)

GoRunDad

I am somewhat new to trail running as I started back in the winter.  Live in Florida so it is up in the 80's at this point.  Ran last night and noticed that I had about 10 little tics on me when I got done.  They were tiny and didn't latch on to me.  The still played mind games on me as even though I took an extra long shower and verified that they were all gone, I still felt like they were on me.  No cases of Lyme disease down here but it still.

Any tips or do you just deal with it.  Really don't want to go back to roads.

MadisonMandy

Refurbished Hip

Just another annoyance to deal with.  I believe a tick has to be attached to you for 36+ hours in order to actually transmit the disease.  And yes, in Florida, you don't have as much to worry about regarding Lyme's Disease as those of us who live in my area and in the Northeast.

My dog was recently diagnosed with Lyme's.  I hate ticks.

Running is dumb.

runtraildc

Welcome GoRunDad!

Just to reiterate Mandy's point that deer ticks need to be attached for a while, and that not all ticks carry the Lyme pathogen. good to hear that ticks are only an annoyance and not health issue in Florida.   I hope they don't deter you from staying on the trails.  (it would be the alligators and pythons that might scare me off!).

sorry, you asked for tips-- I'll get to it.  a number of us have suggested using permethrin on your clothing (and gaiters) as one of the best deterrents.  when it's hot and you have a lot of bare skin, I'd recommend a quick wipe down on your legs and arms with a damp towel or wipe before you get in the car.

Occasional Runner

There's a variety of products out there that will keep them off you. Some products will even kill the little bastards on contact. They're not dangerous in Florida, but they're still creepy.

GoRunDad