Trailer Trash

Threesome Thursdaily (Read 29 times)

Daydreamer1

I had a 7mm mag and I didn't like it- it kicked too much and it ruined too much meat- I promptly sold it- I don't recommend that calibre for anything

a .300 mag is a decent calibre for elk, but much overkill for whitetail or mule deer, I don't recommend that calibre much either

I'd recommend a .30-06 or a .270, both have a very wide variety of bullet weight/design choices, neither kick too bad, neither overly damage meat and both are plenty capable for deer to elk size (including black bear) animals.

it's worth spending a little $ on optics too; poor optics can ruin a hunt in a hurry- I highly recommend Leupold scopes- I've been using them exclusively for the last 40 years and they've never let me down

The 7mm Mag  definitely kicks harder than I like.  I don't know much about the .300 mag.  He was also considering the .30-06 and .270 but was also looking for something with a little more range, hence the 7mm mag.  Not sure yet what he's going to do, but I suspect it will be either the .300 mag or the .270 as he keeps mentioning that one as well, in part because some of his friends have that.

I have been pushing him to get a Leupold. I have two. One is 23-25 years old and has been sighted in twice. First when I put in on the gun and the second time when I decided to sight it for longer ranges. The other I bought last year for my daughter.  Very high quality and built here in the USA.

I shoot a 7mm-.08. A very nice caliber for whitetail, OK for black bear, and the people that have used them for Elk and Caribou tell me that they are adequate for those as well.  Of course if your using it out your way and run into a grizzly the grizz will eat you and use the gun for a back scratcher  .

AT-runner

Tim