Trailer Trash

To gator or not to gator (Read 64 times)

FSocks

KillJoyFuckStick

So I'm a nOOb to trail running; just completed my first 50K ultra this past weekend.  I saw a few of the runners with gators around their ankles to keep stuff from getting in their shoes.  The trail I ran had about a mile in a riverbed with sand and I could have really used them.  I had to stop and dump the sand out of my shoes a few times.

What are the general thoughts on them?

Only use them when the trail dictates (provided you're familiar with the trail beforehand)?

Use them all of the time?

Gators?  Are you talking alligator or crocodile?

You people have issues 

MadisonMandy

Refurbished Hip

Dirty girl gaiters.  I typically wear them while racing, sometimes during training runs if I know the trail and tend to get a lot of little rocks or sand in my shoes.

Running is dumb.

Uh oh... now what?

Gaiters.

I have never used them.

I think their appeal (need) has increased with the new wider mesh material in the uppers of today's running shoes.

I've never used them either. I also have never felt like I needed them. I have yet to notice anything getting in my shoe. I always wear fairly long socks, don't know if that makes a difference.

mta: Congrats on the 50k!

Pinhoti 100: Finished :D

valerienv

Thread killer ..

I use them all the time but I live in the desert and run in sand , lots of sand . My friend makes them for me , it takes her about 15 minutes to make them . I buy her fabric and the parts this time of year so I can have a bunch to match my shoes and outfits . If you know some who sews the materials cost about $4 per pair depending on what fabric you pick . I go with swimsuit material but you could use anything with some stretch .

MadisonMandy

Refurbished Hip

Running is dumb.

I like them in the snow, but seldom use them in other conditions.

TrailTromper 

Tallahassee, Florida

ilanarama

Pace Prophet