Trailer Trash

"Non-Celiac Gluten-Sensitivity" (Read 40 times)

FTYC

Faster Than Your Couch!

I never believed that people, who are not suffering from Celiac disease, would benefit from a gluten-free diet. I thought this was just a placebo-effect, or some hypochondriac thing. I learned something new.

After fairly suddenly developing severe lower-GI problems, which also affected my running, I studied the scientific literature on the topic. Already about 6 months earlier, before I had these GI problems, I read up on the issue just out of curiosity, and found that proteins called ATI's (amylase trypsin inhibitors), which act as natural insecticides in plants and which have been purposely been crossed into modern high-gluten wheat crops, might be responsible for the "gluten sensitivity" that more and more people seem to complain about.

And now I found this publication: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3526354/  Edit: Click on "Additional Article Information" on the website, it will show the full article, as published in J.Exp.Med. Dec 17, 2012, 209 (13)

In short, it describes how, on a biochemical level, these proteins interact with the human digestive system, and that they actually do cause a generic and/or specific inflammatory response in individuals with a certain genetic disposition. They might also be responsible for causing Celiac disease.

The publication is a highly acclaimed scientific paper, not just "an internet website".