Trailer Trash

Struggling with soleus problems for many years (Read 44 times)

Hi! I am just a few minutes old in this forum (and this site for that matter), so I hope I am at the right place, being an avid trail runner. Maybe also a small introduction is appropriate: I have been running for 10-15 years, and about 10 years ago I realized I love trail running. We have great trails where I live and I run all year long, even when it's sub zero F degrees and lots and lots of snow. 

I love running, but I have really never been very good at it: I always run into problems with my calf muscles. Sometimes I have been running between 30-50 km/week (and some periods much less). Right now I am at around 20 km, but never more than 15 km in a single run, and that not without pain.

Usually it does not take more than a few hundred meters before my calves (probably soleus) get heavy and I can feel the lactic acid build up. If I stop it goes away. I can usually run even slower to reduce the effect. The same thing happens when I go in stairs, it takes maybe 10-20 steps and I get a similar feeling. When I run the soleus muscle feels overworked pretty fast. I have also been struggling with achilles tendon problems for long periods (last time lasted for 2-3 years...).

I think I have tried most things there are to try: big fat shoes, zero drop shoes, etc , orthotics, no shoes (five fingers), slow running, fast running, specific weight training, physiotherapists etc etc.

Do you have any spontaneous ideas about this? Compartment? Magnusium deficiency (I tried popping pills for a week, did not work)?

FTYC

Faster Than Your Couch!

Hi, and welcome!

What comes to my mind is that it could be the side effect of certain medications - are you taking e.g. cholesterol medication, or diabetes drugs?

What about stretching several times during the run, does that help a bit? Applying cold or heat before the run?

What does your daytime activity look like?