Trailer Trash

Training for racing hills (Read 59 times)

DigDug2

I haven't run that many trail races, and I'm planning to run a number of 10-20 mile, fairly hilly trail races in New England this year.  I'm learning (based on both experience and advice from others) that power-walking up certain hills, even if they're theoretically runnable, may be a more efficient overall racing strategy.  I am not experienced at when/how much to do this, but assume for purposes of my training question that I will somehow master this wisdom and judgment during races.

My question is how to train for hills that you're going to end up walking during a race.  Is it important to walk during training?  Does practicing walking (and practicing shifting gears back and forth between walking and running) actually provide some physical training benefit?  Or should I just hammer all of the hills I can during training, so that when I walk the hills in the race it will feel that much easier?

AT-runner

Tim

As far as the race, it's a matter of efficiency.  If you can power hike just as fast as you could run, then power hike it.  If you have the energy and it's faster running, then run.  Most hills will tell you what to do.  I use my breathing as the judge.  If I'm breathing harder than I think I should, and I can't see the top of the climb, I scale back my pace and will power hike if I have to.

As far a training, if you think you might be power hiking in the race, then you should train yourself for that effort.  That doesn't mean every hill on every run, but throw in a few power hiking section on a run and see how comfortable you can get.  On other runs, continue to train on the hills and run them as fast as you can to work on your climbing.

“Paralysis-to-50k” training plan is underway! 

Chnaiur