Trailer Trash

New and question about running technical trails (Read 310 times)

Hi everyone,

I'm pretty new to running in general. I've only been running with any kind of consistency for the last year, after discovering that you can run on trails.  I was in good shape when I started running so I have been struggling with the fact that my heart and legs are quite willing to continue after my joints and tendons are telling me I'm done.

I don't run on roads at all. Well, except for 5k's I kind of enjoy a hilly 5k in a masochistic kind of way. But generally I don't like roads, they hurt and I feel awkward.  I don't know if I just haven't found the right shoes or if my gait is different or what. Fortunately I have a 1+ mile, and a 9ish mile mountain bike trail minutes from my house. So all my during the week runs are there. The trails are single track but pretty much all non technical.  On the weekends I head out to Mt Cheaha for my long run. And therein lies my difficulty.

The trail I was on yesterday was up to 6in of leaf litter covering cantaloupe to watermelon sized rocks for a good portion of the first three miles. I was averaging 22 min miles and doing a lot of slipping and sliding. It was also pretty steep in sections (about 1000ft elevation change in that section according to garmin connect). And it was way more tiring than I expected. After that the trail was awesome, the views were incredible and I was actually able to run a fair bit but about 8 miles in part of my glute (or something in that general region) was sort of cramping and seriously painful anytime I stepped on anything unstable). I ended up bailing onto a gravel road to get back to the car. I am not sore anywhere today and feel totally recovered from what ended up being a 3:45 12 mile pseudo-run lol (total elevation change 3500ft). (Note to self: need to remember to carry more calories... fortunately I had some as I wanted to try some stuff out)