Barefoot Runners

Interesting visit to the Podiatrist today... (Read 901 times)

Half Fanatic #846

for the treatment of a minor toenail problem. I noticed wall plaques for three marathons he had run, including Boston - an avid runner apparently.  I thought there was a slim chance he might be interested in barefoot running, so I intended to mention it casually.

50 years ago I had surgery which resulted in one foot being 1" shorter than the other.  Six years ago I started running. Four years ago I had a fasciotomy for compartment syndrome.  Three years ago I developed PF which resulted in two opposing heel spurs on the affected foot.  All this while wearing "proper" running shoes.  Two years ago I started learning to run barefoot and currently do half my mileage that way - the other half in minimalist shoes. Since then I've been able to run more than ever before without injury or pain. Oh, and I still have a short right foot & heel spurs on the left foot.

After explaining how my arches work, he recommended corrective foot surgery and customized orthotics, saying otherwise I was headed for "problems" (I'm 64).  He seemed surprised that I had no pain. I showed him the bottom of my foot and said "that's the result of 15-20 miles barefoot on asphalt every week" (soft, pinkish-white, & no calluses) to which he responded with an obligatory "Wow".  After that, we decided that he would treat the toenail today, and I would think about the other stuff. 

I really do think that for the most part, nature - or barefooting in my case - has a way of compensating nicely for many physical defects and injuries. I sure don't want to screw that up now. BTW, I think he did a great job with my toe.Smile    

"I don't always roll a joint, but when I do, it's usually my ankle" - unk.         "Frankly autocorrect, I'm getting a bit tired of your shirt".                  I ran half my last race on my left foot!                                  

LedLincoln

not bad for mile 25