Barefoot Runners

Foot Strike (Read 1216 times)

runner duck

My Everything Hurts

I recently got myself some Vibrams because nothing else seemed to be working for me. They have been really good so far. I was told that you are supposed to run toe/heel not heel/toe. I noticed some wearing in the heel padding on my Vibrams. Is it true that you are supposed to run toe/heel? If so anyway I can change how I'm landing? Any input would be greatly appreciated. Smile

" Endurance is one of the most difficult disciplines, but it is to the one who endures that the final victory comes."

Petco Run/Walk/Wag 5k

I think more in line of mid-foot strike. I hear a slapping noise when I land on heel. Have been trying to run quieter using high knee and mid/ball foot strike which ever seems quieter. Still not there yet myself. My VFFs do show more heel wear because of the way I land. I have more feeling when BF and with the Sprints than with Biklia's. But I am still a novice BFer and am interested in what the experts will say!

bob e v
      2014 goals: keep on running! Is there anything more than that?

Complete the last 3 races in the Austin Distance Challenge, Rogue 30k, 3M Half, Austin Full

Break the 1000 mi barrier!

History: blessed heart attack 3/15/2008; c25k july 2008 first 5k 10/26/2008 on 62nd birthday.

Half Fanatic #846

i think running toe to heel or on your toes is a more natural foot strike for sprinters.  When I jog barefoot I land first on my forefoot, come down on my mid-foot, and touch my heel.  Running faster involves more pushing off with my forefoot & toes.  Before BF running when I was in shoes all the time I was a heel and mid-foot striker, but now I run more naturally on my fore and mid-foot.  Let your foot-strike develop naturally without forcing it.  I worked on mine simply by sometimes repeating silently to myself when running "fore-foot, fore-foot, fore-foot...".