Barefoot Runners

Cautiously sticking my toe in the water (Read 489 times)

Wow, a safe place to say the word "barefoot" and not start a war??

I've done a little treadmill running barefoot this winter.  I bought my first pair of VFF KSO's & am up to 2 miles in them.  I'm in the stage of aching calves & shins during my bf runs & for the first couple of shod miles after.  I'm excited to be started though & looking forward to reading some threads from people that know way more about this than I do.

I am a severe over pronator with no arches.  I've been wearing Saucony Stabil-CS's for a couple of years now.  I went from neutral shoes to those on recommendation from my PT when I had issues with posterior shin splints.  

I haven't done much searching here yet, so if this has come up in other threads, my apologies.  I'm wondering if, while I'm getting used to my VFF's, should I be transitioning to a lesser shoe when I'm running in shoes?  I'm just curious if switching from VFF's to my super stable shoes is counter productive.  Should I go back to a more neutral shoe?

So do not get tired and stop trying. - Hebrews 12:3

under a rock

Hi, it's good to see you here! I just started doing some barefoot this month.

I'm wondering if, while I'm getting used to my VFF's, should I be transitioning to a lesser shoe when I'm running in shoes?  I'm just curious if switching from VFF's to my super stable shoes is counter productive.  Should I go back to a more neutral shoe?

That's a good question! I've been wondering when to switch to a more minimalist or neutral shoe also. I was thinking I'd do it when I've gotten used to the changes in my stride and it becomes more second nature to me.