Barefoot Runners

wet vs. dry (Read 542 times)

LedLincoln

not bad for mile 25

My post-rainstorm run this morning made me wonder if there's a downside to running on wet concrete - softening of the skin or anything?  Doesn't matter for my dinky two-miler, but for longer distances?

I don't know about softening the feet, but I do find wet asphalt a bit more abrasive.  I'd say use caution until you have some experience with it and know what to expect for your own running gait.

Run to Win
      25 Marathons, 17 Ultras, 16 States (Full List)

Kerry1976

Master of the Side Eye

I'm totally new at this, but I ran on wet pavement (sidewalks mainly) last night and was okay. But I'm really slow and really careful, too. (MTA: ran .4 miles - good for me since so new and coming from injury)

TRUST THE PROCESS

Wet asphalt always seems to have more little tiny stones that I don't see and that hurt like hell.

Half Fanatic #846

Michael Sandler's new book "Barefoot Running" discusses this, and in it he states that running BF on wet pavement will soften the soles and cause them to abrade or wear down quickly because they become soft in wet conditions - possibly to the point of having to re-establish tough pads if there is enough wet-pavement running. So, he advises against it.

For the same reasons, he says if you are going to split a run into part shod and part BF, it's best to run BF first - rather than having your feet sweating in shoes, getting them damp or wet, and then running bare on pavement with wet (softer) feet.

Personally, I have run 2 or 3 several milers BF on wet pavement & once in the rain with no apparent ill effect (really can't help it here in Fla.).  But those were "isolated" incidents, and had I run several times in a row and/or a lot farther on wet roads, I would probably be sorry I that did. 

Bill