Barefoot Runners

suggestions: mostly VFF, some bare, 1/2 marathon fully shod (Read 354 times)

xcal

Hi All,

Can you please give me some advice.

Background:

I've spent most of my childhood barefoot, trained karate barefoot  for 6 years (age7-13), and walk barefoot around the house all the time and run on the beach a couple of times a year.  in other words, being barefoot is not a new experience for me...in fact, it's always been my preference, now I dont' even wear sandals to go shopping anymore.

I've been training Kung Fu for the past 6 years (not 100% dedicated due to life, but I'm back in full swing for a few months now).  This shows that I've got a solid base of cross-training and my legs/core/back are quite strong.

I've been running for 5 years  to supplement Kung Fu.  I've been generally comfortable running about 12km in under 1h20m.  I've  run 2to4 half marathons per year for the last 3 years.

Current:

I bought a pair of VFF KSO's 2 weeks ago and am LOVING IT! I ran/walked/jogged 8km(Sat) and 12km(Sun) on the first weekend.  Ran 6km on a treadmill(Sat), and 12km(Sun) on the 2nd weekend.  In between, I have had a few 2km runs and 2 Kung Fu sessions a week in these things.  I'e also taken 2 barefoot walks for about 1km each (tender soles).  This sounds like a very large load when compared to the recommendations that I've read (start with 30min sessions in VFF's), but my body is fine aside from a few lazy aches when I get out of bed...these are gone by the time I'm out of the shower.

Tomorrow: I'm racing a 10km Valentine's race in  my VFF's.

My Question is:  In Jan, I  started training for a 21 km on 21Feb.  I was on track until I bought my VFF's.  I *know* that I've got the legs/lungs to complete the race *IF* I wear shoes, but I think that 1month of minimalist training is not good enough for me to run in my VFF's.  I am still set on entering the run.  My options are: