Barefoot Runners

To BF or not to BF? (Read 441 times)

LedLincoln

not bad for mile 25

I'm pretty new to barefooting, but have been taking it slowly and interspersing BF with shod miles.  I'm currently doing two mile BF runs without significant problems.  I think I could do three miles any day now.  I'm enjoying it, too, being unencumbered with the shoes.

So here's the deal.  There's a local 5K coming up August 7.  This race is potentially a fast one.  It's run on the airport tarmac, so it's perfectly flat.  Last year I set my PR and fastest pace and won my AG, in shoes.  This year, maybe I could run it even faster, but not barefoot.  I'll have to go a lot slower and more carefully if I ditch the shoes.

What would you do?

Half Fanatic #846

I've been barefooting 10 months now - have recently passed 500 miles and currently doing 14-18 BF mpw.  I marked two 5Ks I wanted to do BF on my calendar recently, but ended up cancelling because I just didn't feel ready to race.  Try to run one faster mile BF the way you would in the race - then decide.  Or do a tempo run to see how you respond to an increase in pace.  In my case, I'm still acclimating.  My pads are still developing, and I bruise my feet if I run too fast, too far, or too many hills. Even so, I'm pretty sure my first "race" BF will be slow and mostly just to finish, like you described.

OTOH, tarmac should be very smooth, shouldn't it?  And you could carry shoes in your hands just in case.  Good luck whatever you decide!

"I don't always roll a joint, but when I do, it's usually my ankle" - unk.         "Frankly autocorrect, I'm getting a bit tired of your shirt".                  I ran half my last race on my left foot!                                  

I say run it barefoot, just don't go faster than you're comfortable with. Sure, you could PR in shoes, but if your experience is anything like mine was, you'll be beating that PR barefoot in a few months anyway.