Diabetic Runners

Does anyone really use this site? (Read 325 times)

Debtyp131

Hi,

Obviously my name is Deb.  I live in Wisconsin and am running the Madison Half Marathon tomorrow.  By all of the posts, it appears no one has been on with new topics since March 2009.  I was hoping to find some real runners out there that would share their triumphs and struggles.  My diabetes educator doesn't know what to do with me, so it's all trial and error.  I've been running seriously for about 5 years and really enjoy it. 

Let me know if anyone is really out there. 

jpnairn

straw man

I does seem to be pretty quiet here, probably because there are other places that are diabetic-focused, but if you ask a question, you're likely to get an answer.

Another place to look is the DESA web site:

http://www.diabetes-exercise.org

You might be interested in my blog:

http://t1d-runner.blogspot.com

My youngest brother lives in Madison. He may be running tomorrow. Best wishes for a great race.

He who has the best time wins. Jerry

Hi Deb,

I'm not sure how serious I am, but I'm a T1 and have been running for a few years.  I ran my 1st 1/2 marathon in February.   Jerry has lots of experience, and no doubt we all benefit from comparing notes on what works/doesn't for us.  My doc doesn't know what to do w/ me either.  I think they are so used to trying to talk people into exercising, they don't know how to handle those of us who actually enjoy it.  I'm switching to a different pump and getting started with a CGM this week, so will be interested to see how that helps with BG mgmt during runs.  

So are you on a pump or MDI?  Got CGM??  Let us know how our 1/2 goes and how the BG mgmt goes.  Oh, and hope it was fun too Wink

Progress Trumps Pefection
        Debtyp131

Hi Carol and is it Jerry?