Diabetic Runners

thirsty for knowledge! (Read 319 times)

rdobeangus

Good evening all... I found this site by accident and it is exactly what I was looking for. I am a T1 x almost 20 yrs. I am a mother of 3 beautiful girls, work full time at home and at an acute care hospital in my home city. I have been attempting to run for a couple years inconsistently but not giving up... A group of a few of us at work are now running 5 k's on our lunch hour 3-4 times a week... we have signed up for a 80 k relay in september ... I would responsible for 10k of this... So I am looking to increase my education on hydration and nutrition before, during and post work out. I currently find most runs are followed by a couple hours of elevated bs's but then can drop like a bomb. Since I am now officially a runner and need to do it right I am here to read all the posts and ask some questions. I am currently on multiple injections daily, wishing for a pump some day soon, but our insurance at a Major hospital doesnt cover it. Nice eh? Until then I need to know all I can. Thanks Corryne
    jpnairn

straw man

Hello, and best wishes, Corryne. I'm not going to try to guess what's going on with your blood sugar after your runs. There are just so many factors that can be involved in that, and I know nothing about you. You should order the book, the Diabetic Athlete, by Sheri Colberg-Ochs. There are lots of ideas and examples of how diabetics deal with controlling their blood sugar while exercising, and there's always more than one way. Another good source of information is the forum at the Diabetes Exercise and Sports Association website, the DESA. The web site is http://www.diabetes-exercise.org And of course, this is a good place, too.

He who has the best time wins. Jerry

The voice of mile 18