Diabetic Runners

New to this forum (Read 345 times)

Just wanted to say Hi & introduce myself. I'm 42 yo w/T2 (9yrs) and I've been running for almost 2 yrs. I started off just running a few 5K's but kept pushing myself to run longer distances. I just completed my 3rd Half Marathon & finished my 1st Full in Little Rock last month. I ran Chicago but was diverted back to the start when the race was called. My T2 is very well controlled (last A1C was 4.2) & blood pressure is also well controlled w/meds. I came across this forum & was hoping to find answers re: fueling on long distances. My endo says to stay away from sports drinks, GU, sports beans, etc but I don't know any other way to keep up my energy. I'm a back-of-the-packer (12-13 min miles at any distance above 10mi) so I'm on the course for quite a long time. Water alone is not doing the trick but too many carbs on the run doesn't help much either -- finding a balance has been very unsuccessful. I'm looking forward to any advice or suggestions from others who have "been there, done that" -Lisa
    There are days when I don't know if I can run a marathon. There will be a lifetime of knowing that I have.

The voice of mile 18

first off you rawk!! congrats on your first marathon and excellent A1c #'s I go with the sport jellies and gu. some stuff like hammergel allows you to control the amount of sugar you put into the gels but I still go w/ the sport jelly beans for convenience.

Tri Rule #1 of Triathlon Training/Racing - If Momma ain't happy nobody is happy