Diabetic Runners

coaching a diabetic runner (Read 356 times)

waterrunner33

Hello,  Name is Coach Mitchell.

I am a middle school coach and have my first diabetic runner.  He has been struggling with getting his levels right and has missed a couple races due to being low.  I love to learn and need some educating.

One race was at 8:45 am and the other at 4:15.

I normally have my runners eat foods with 3:1 CarbTonguerotein ratio and for afternoon meets sneak in a snack two hours before the race.  Sneak because we are in school.

I give them suggestions for the 3:1 ratio.

I am looking for:

1.  Good diabetic food suggestions?

2.  Any advice at all

Thank you for any thoughts or help.

Iza

A big problem here is that every diabetic is their own individual case. Having no knowledge of how this diabetic is testing his sugars and dosing his insulin, I can only give some general thoughts and even those might not be applicable to his specific case.

Personally, I avoid eating any sort of snack or meal 2 hours prior to running. The reason I do that is because I want to only have basal insulin in effect if I can. It is generally observed that physical activity decreases insulin resistance, and if I were to have extra bolus insulin active, it increases the chances that my blood sugar will drop too low.