Improving Your 5K

Sub 19 5K Goal (Read 955 times)

Hey all I am new to this group as well. I've been running for almost five years now and have been improving steadily. I think one of my problems with getting that sub 19 is that I have the marathon bug and have been running three a year for the last four years. After I run Boston this year I will concentrate more heavily on the 5 & 10K distances (also trying to get that sub 40 10K). I set my 5K PR last August at 19:25 (6:15) and ran two 19:43s within a week of each other last May. I am just coming off a pretty rough February / March where I had been pretty sick and struggled to get rid of that deep chest cough etc. Races this year: Ran the Derry 16 miler Jan 27th in 4 inches of snow - 2:06:08 - 7:53 Ran the Mid-Winter 10 Miler Feb 3rd - 1:09:46 - 6:59 Ran the Half at the Hamptons 1/2 Marathon Feb 10th - 1:34:43 - (7:14) Ran the Kerrymen's Pub 5K on March 16th - 20:39 - 6:39 (probably shouldn't have run this one) I ended up taking a full week off in March, and was just getting back when I ran that 5K. Looking back it probably would have been much more prudent to pass on that one and continue to get better. I think I have finally recovered fully and ran the Eastern States 20 Miler as a prep run for Boston - goal was to run it at or about goal race pace - 7:38 - I had a great run and completed this one in 2:29:03 - (7:28) and felt quite strong the whole way as my running buddy and I ran together the whole race and were able to talk and enjoy the views! Any thoughts or suggestions would be greatly appreciated - my running group will be concentrating on some regular speed work on Saturdays when we meet (which is every weekend through out the year regardless of weather).
      I like your name Wink Big grin I could learn from you, but I thought this post had some great information: http://www.therunzone.com/VB/archive/index.php?t-420.html