Half Marathon Trainers

Hi from Montreal (Read 21 times)

Cyberic

Hello all,

I started running rather late, at age 42. That was last summer. I enjoy running but I don't race often. Raced a 10k last october, when I had been running for around 3 months, and raced a half marathon (Montreal) a few weeks ago. I plan on continuing to race once a year, probably at the Montreal marathon event. Maybe I'll try other races in the future, but that is not my plans for now.

All of last winter I was running 40-50 kilometer weeks with a hockey game for cross-training, and this summer, after hockey season, I was logging in 65-75 km weeks. Although most of the areas of my legs hurt at one time or another during this past year of running, I stayed pretty healthy. But this summer, leading to the race, I realized that when I want to lenghten my long runs to say 25 km, my hip joint starts hurting a lot, and I have to stop running. It's not normal dull aching like what I'm used to in my legs, but acute pain. So I cut back a lot in my training about 5 weeks before my half marathon and had a loooooong taper period (much too long). I was able to run the half-marathon at my goal pace. My time was 1:38:47. My hip hurt after, but it didn't slow me down.

2 weeks ago I hurt my ankle playing hockey. I stopped running for 6 days and decided to use this time to try and fix my hip problem, so I started to do streching exercises for my hips. Now I'm back in my training, my legs get tired a bit faster than they used to after too much time off. Another month or so of getting back into 100% shape (cross my fingers) and can't wait to test if my hip stretching exercises will have solved my long run problems.

My goal for next year's half is to run it under 1:35:00. And if my hips get better and I can up my long runs, maybe run a marathon in 2015.

Well, this was a longer hello than I intended Smile

Eric

Zelanie