Half Marathon Trainers

Race report: 2011 Indy Mini Marathon (very, very long) (Read 469 times)

an amazing likeness

Indy Mini Marathon

Indianapolis, IN

May 7, 2011

(This is ridiculously long – I desperately need an editor..)

In many ways, this was a really unique event for me.  First, it has something like 30,000 entrants and the largest event I’ve entered previously was around 5,000.  Second, I have never before travelled to an unfamiliar city for a race, which added the hassle of travel logistics -- with the help of some RA folks from the Indianapolis area, this was pretty low-key, but still had the hassles of planes, taxis and hotels.

If you skim the forum here in our ½ Marathon Trainers group, you can see I’ve been obsessing about running the Indy Mini for a few years -- even had an entry for the 2010 version which I had to give away due to injury. While it won’t make much sense to many folks, my obsession was driven by the unique feature of this race…in the middle section of the race; the course does a lap of the famed Indianapolis Motor Speedway.  This was surely the only way in my lifetime I’d get to do a lap of The Speedway.

I’ll leave out all the boring travel details other than to say the schedule didn’t work well as I was out of town for business travel starting early in the week, so my flights to Indy came as the 6- 8th flight segments in a week spent in meetings and hotels – point being it wasn’t was a prime training and prep week heading into the weekend.