Half Marathon Trainers

HMT - June 2011 (Read 482 times)

Beginner all over again

100 minute Long Run for the week done this morning

My HM is in 16 weeks

I'm feeling like I really should be selecting a HM training plan at this point.

How many days a week to you all Run (the 16 weeks before your HM) ?

Bike?

Swim?

Other?

Rest?

Thanks!

Big grin

CanadianMeg

#RunEveryDay

I'm no expert and I've only done one half, but I will be starting training next week for my second.

I run 4-5 days a week and try to do yoga at least once a week. I find the two really work well together.

I take 1-2 rest days per week.

Half Fanatic #9292. 

Game Admin for RA Running Game 2023.

an amazing likeness

How many days a week to you all Run (the 16 weeks before your HM) ?

Bike?

Swim?

Other?

Rest?

I tend to run almost every day as part of routine -- for the most part I sort of plan on a few rest days per month for when life's events get in the way.  So I don't really alter the quantity of runs side of the equation.

For HM training, I try to focus on 3 workouts during the week:

#1 is a longer mid-week run, easy week 1, medium week 2 and so on.  For me this means taking my Wed or Thur run from 45 - 55 minutes to 1hr:20 with the real goal being 9 - 10 miles.

#2 is the day after the mid-week long, which I do as a 10K at an 'up tempo' pace.  Goal being to run faster than normal daily pace on legs that are tired from the previous day's extra distance.

#3 is every other week, take the long run out to 12 - 14 miles to get comfy with the distance.

Again, this is a pattern and not a rigid plan.  It is something I've cobbled together from RA advice, Hal Higdon's HM plan's pattern, and what works for the time I have available.

I'm eager to see what Mandy does for an HM training pattern, she's really pushed her PR way down this year.

Acceptable at a dance, invaluable in a shipwreck.

CanadianMeg

#RunEveryDay