Marathoner Dailies

Toledo Marathon RR (Read 16 times)

So_Im_a_Runner

Go figure

This was my 5th marathon – the Glass City Marathon in Toledo.  It was my goal race, and the biggest push for a sub 3 I’ve ever made (PR of 3:12 going into race).  I started training for this in November by doing a 4 week base phase, and then built into my training using the Hudson plan, which I LOVED.  In the past, I’ve faded in the latter stretches so I made a point of having as many miles I could, including a peak week at 109.2 miles.  I also had some good indicators throughout the cycle, particularly a 29:23 5 miler and pacing a 1:30 half that felt good.  Unfortunately, the last month wasn’t my best training.  Even in the last two weeks, my breath felt labored and I had some aches in my knees that I didn’t like.  My confidence was suffering, and I had pretty well reconciled with the fact that sub 3 wasn’t going to happen for me.

So, with that as subtext, here’s what transpired:

Get to race site…rain starts.  Awesome.  But here we go!

Miles 1-5 6:56, 6:45, 6:45, 6:47, 6:49

My plan was to run the first 3-5 miles of this race slower than goal pace.  The biggest thing was just to not go out too fast, which is so tough when starting near the front of race (or starting anywhere really).  I was really happy to see my first mile where it was, and although I sped up a little for the next 4, it wasn’t by too much.  This was a nice area with some very beautiful homes for scenery.  The crowds were awesome, and I got to see my mom at mile 4.  She hoofed it pretty hard from the start to get out there before me, and she’s an awesome race buddy.  I spent these miles mostly taking stock of all my key indicators …I was breathing mostly through my nose and feeling no real aches or pains - goodness.

Miles 6-10 6:52, 6:46, 6:54, 6:48, 6:51