Sub-4 Marathon Group

March 2013 (Read 56 times)

White Lightning

josh:  I haven't read anymore since getting back from vacation.  However, DH and I are going to give it a test drive.  Overall, it's not too much of a change for us.  We already eat well, but the hidden calories and mental hunger games are something we can improve on.  Using his tables and calculations, DH has around 2 lbs to lose and I have 3-4.  How about you?  What are your thoughts?

I'm giving it a go and so far this week I've noticed quite the difference in my energy levels and think I've pushed through my plateau   Following his guidelines on carb intake as an average for the week is something i've never done before which has made it easier to stay on my diet, less fluctuations day to day.  I hit 50 miles next week so we'll see how I fair energy wise and losing weight at the same time.  There were a couple of nights last night that I woke up just absolutely starving, even after I consumed 3300 calories that day.  What ever I've done has definitely shocked the system.  Still have 18 to go

Play the Game Hard!

bagopux

Couple of things to report on.

First, I took my stress test last week and it all turned out OK.  Of course, as soon as the doc explained how the test works, my first questions was, "What's the record?"  The record was 21 minutes.  I made it to 16 minutes, at which time I was running a 12 min/mile pace up an 18% grade.  If you're wondering, at 21 minutes you'd be doing 10-minute miles up a 22% grade.  And you're doing all this with about a dozen wires hanging off you.  Its a little awkward.  Anyway, the doc saw nothing unusual in the data and  my takeaway was that my issue is more an annoyance and intermittent training hindrance than a serious health issue.  So that's that for now.