Ultra Runners

Seeking All Wisdom re 50-Milers (Read 296 times)

Yep, I am considering taking the plunge this next year and am wiling to listen to all wisdom in this regard.  You may proceed . . . .

Leslie
    Living and Running Behind the Redwood Curtain
    -------------

Trail Runner Nation

Sally McCrae-Choose Strong

Bare Performance

As you are a 'early 40s trail running chic' who recently did SOB 50K in in 7hrs 39 mins and has some longer training runs under your belt I would recommend the following;

- find a training/running partner that you click with

- pick a race

- taylor your training similar to the race course

- enjoy the training and race day experience

Looks like you are in NoCal so I would recommend the American River 50(one of the easiest 50 milers out there).

If you have a particular 50miler in mind let me know.

Dennis

1.  I do have a training partner.  She and I have been running together for 3 years, however, I don't think she has any interest in training for a 50-miler at this point in her life.  Right now, besides posting it here, only my coach and a guy I know (Russ) will give me the honest scoop and poop know that I am thinking about this.

2.  I looked at American River, but I don't like the fact that so much of it is on a bike path, and I seem to have lousy luck running on flat for very long, whether in training runs or a race.  Weirdly enough, my body seems to respond better to the changes of regular trails.

3.  I am lucky in that the Arcata Community Forest is an excellent training ground for trail running.  Not high elevation, but lots and lots of climbing. There are also a couple of other trails close by that we've been scoping out.  With regard to tailoring my training, I am going to see how I do in at least 2 more 50ks before I make a firm decision on this.