Ultra Runners

Looking for a little magic (Read 432 times)

I've done a couple of 50k's this year, I did my first 50mi last month (technical trail) with a couple of friends, and I did my second 50mi on the weekend (gravel, night run).

For the 50mi with my buddies I followed their strict 25 min run, 5 min walk strategy, with uphill walks too and a couple of days later I was out running again.  On the weekend the terrain was very different, and I only ran on the uphills.  My feet feel like they've been run over by a steamroller and it felt like hours more discomfort during the run than my previous.   

I snuck a couple of ibuprofin somewhere in there to take the edge off the discomfort, because I am a sissy, and it barely made a difference.  I'm wondering if (a) I'm just a sissy, (b) because I'm still a rookie, I should include more walk breaks (c) I need to get over it, it's supposed to hurt, or maybe this is something others have experienced and they've found something that helps. 

Maybe alteration of my diet, maybe some glucosomine (sp?), squats/lunges to build strength....

I want to do 100k in June, I don't know whether I'm too soft and I should just stick to 50's.  I appreciate that I did two in two months and that's not always ideal, but it's worth asking if it got easier for others and there was something specific that helped. 

On the weekend the terrain was very different, and I only ran on the uphills. 

Do you mean to say that you only walked on the uphills?

Everybody has their own run/walk strategy, but I've personally found 8/2 to be better than 25/5.  I am blessed with a nice rail trail not too far from the house and it basically works out that I walk 2 minutes for each mile when I am doing a long ultramarathon-paced workout.  5 minutes is a long time to walk -- it makes it harder to start running again. Similarly, walking only on uphills means that some muscles never really get the break that would happen with regularly spaced walking breaks.