Ultra Runners

RWOL ultra runners (Read 668 times)

DoppleBock

I resisted for 6-9 months and then I just entered the historical data in large blocks - Just getting the mileage in the right year.  You could start fresh 1/1/2013.

I've never had an on-line log. I keep mine in Excel and it looks like too much work to reenter it here. Basic current info: 30 mpw, 5 or 6 days, longest run in the 7-10 mile range, try to get in one interval workout a week. Short term goals: 800m and mile improvement over last year (3:28 and 7:57 respectively). Indoor track season ends March 3 and I can reset my focus then. And I've been running since 1968 and have raced as long as a marathon, though my last one was 30+ years ago.

Long dead ... But my stench lingers !

wcrunner2

Are we there, yet?

There may be User Groups which meet your needs better - but if you really want to have a crack at a 24hr race then please stick around and listen to DoppleBock and WrigleyGirl.... and then go to your Doctor to get your head examined.

If my head is the only part that needs to be examined, I'll be fine. SueInTN has already pointed me to several resources. I did crew at this year's NC24 so I got a glimpse of what I'm getting myself into.

2024 Races:

03/09 - Livingston Oval Ultra 6-Hour, 22.88 miles

05/11 - D3 50K
            05/25 - What the Duck 12-Hour

06/17 - 6 Days in the Dome 12-Hour.

DoppleBock

Welcome - Do you care to share any background.

I like to run a lot - I am a higher mileage piggy.  I am Dopplebock = full bodied beer, doing all my PRs > 200# at 6'3.  My 3 favorite distances (In rank order) = 50 mile, 5 mile, Marathon.  My most hated distances = 24 hour and <= 5k.

I have had the most success at 24 hour although I truly hate the mental and physical anguish it causes.  Lately I have not been able to get myself into the right mental place for a 24 hours race.  My last attempt I was in really good shape and ran a 24 on the track (Sept 1-2)

1st 12 = 129,200 meters