Ultra Runners

Another ultra newbie (Read 508 times)

HoosierDaddy

GreyBeard

Hello all Cool I have been running for about 7 months (ran from 2003-06 before 9 month hiatus) and am currently in shape to complete marathon to 50k. I would like to complete a 50 miler in the spring / summer and the 72 mile Tahoe Ultra September 28, 2008. At this point I am running 35-45 mpw. I know I could easily stretch my midweek runs to 8-10 miles/day. Not sure if that is ideal or if I should stretch the weekend runs. I have looked at a few "ultra sites" but there is no real consistent message and not sure if there is a method of training that has worked well for other ultra newbs much like the numerous Marathon Guru training programs. I will be running marathons /half marathons every month (another goal) so I am quite comfortable that I can run tat distance every couple weeks (at training pace of course). Thanks for any direction that can help me begin planning 3-6 month training program.

• Black Canyon 100k
    • RRR
    • Zane Grey 100k
    • High Lonesome 100
    • Wyoming Range 100 (?)
    • The Bear 100
    • Javelina Jundred (?)

who knows...

At this point I am running 35-45 mpw. I know I could easily stretch my midweek runs to 8-10 miles/day. Not sure if that is ideal or if I should stretch the weekend runs.
      It seems to me that is best to slowly increase both your mid-week and end-week runs, esp. if you are working toward 50 and 78 mile runs. The general consensus that I have found (and some here may be able to alter or correct my observation) is 'time spent on your feet'--which, of course, translates to 'miles.'
      "There is no I in εγω." --Unknown author, source of possible, but in no way certain, Greek origin