Ultra Runners

Balance long run week (Read 316 times)

runnerclay

Consistently Slow

Highest mileage week ever is 55. In May. Have been increase mileage 10% a month. 180 miles this month will be my 10%. Will go over 180. Now to my questions. Should I keep my mileage this week under 25 miles not including the longer run?What % of  weekly mileage should the long run be?  Does it even matter? Did 23 miles  with 51 mile week ending 10/9/10.  On track for  200 mile(21%) month. Should I cut back mileage to avoid going to much of  10%? The goal is to make the start line uninjured and not  register DNF. 50k Nov 14.

Run until the trail runs out.

SCHEDULE 2016--

The pain that hurts the worse is the imagined pain. One of the most difficult arts of racing is learning to ignore the imagined pain and just live with the present pain (which is always bearable.) - Jeff

unsolicited chatter

http://bkclay.blogspot.com/

I am a total newby at this but I'll throw my two cents in.  I have finished one 50m and I did really well considering it was one week after my first marathon (July).  I have been increasing my miles since then and am running more now than I was then (or at least I am more consistent with my long runs).  I feel strong.  It sounds like I am up to where you are for weekly and monthly totals.  October will be my first month over 200 ( I should probably have about 220 or so).  My race is on December 18 ( a 50m).  My plan is to finish this month strong and run about 160 to 180 in November and then cut my running so that by race week I will run like 9 miles over two or three days.  I would say you are there.  If you are running this much you should be totally ready to run the 50k.  I have learned from my expeirence with mountain sprint races but mostly from talking with other runners:  The taper is really important.  A two week taper cutting back 50% then almost nothing would bring me in with strong legs, ready to run.