Marathon pace vs weather (Read 143 times)

This is from FindMyMarathon.com.

Martian was in April, Grand Rapids in October, Ann Arbor coming up this Sunday.

Does it seem reasonable that this difference, based mainly on weather, would be this large? Ann Arbor in June is not exactly Miami in August. (They assume a mean temp of 66F.) I was pretty surprised (and terrified) to see this, but maybe I shouldn't be (surprised anyway; I can still be terrified).

What are people's experiences with marathon pace variation with temperature (and of course I realize humidity/dewpoint is a major factor), assuming the same level of fitness?

Also this is the elevation profile (yes they could've done a better job with the y-axis scale).

I mostly run pretty flat. I've never really looked at elevation profiles, so no idea how bad this is, but I'm guessing hillier than I'm used to.

Should I be concerned?

I could be in trouble here. I am pretty new at this, and picked a race based on the calendar, without looking at the race itself.

Thanks for any comments/advice!

Dave

GinnyinPA

The elevation really doesn't look bad, with only three real hills.  The one at mile 16 will be the hardest, but you have time to recover.  What is the supposed elevation gain?  (FWIW:  mapmyrun understates elevation significantly.  runningahead maps include the little ups and downs.  My HM in September shows a mapmyrun elev. gain of 262', while runningahead gives it over 750'.)

Docket_Rocket

Are you looking at the difference in total time?  That could be the elevation coupled with the weather.  As to weather, I know my times in the same race have varied as much as 30 minutes in a 40 degree difference so it looks possible but I cannot say since to me 66F is cold, ha.

I once checked a very fast downhill marathon vs the marathon I have my current PR at.  The difference was 48 minutes (meaning I would be very fast in that downhill marathon).  So, yes, terrain and weather could be a major difference.