2011 Goal of Sub-3:00 Marathon (Read 8006 times)

kcam

Well, not exactly sure, yet.  Although, I won't taper, I am planning a recovery week, so should be rested enough.  I am hoping for 6:30s, and that seems obtainable.  I could use it as a training run and do 6:52s for 10 miles and then kick it in (assuming I am feeling good).  Its exactly a month before the NYC marathon, so open to any ideas on what the best plan is for it????

And @ParkLife, your guess is a good one, but again I have limited experience in the marathon world.

A month before your big marathon?  F'in race it and find out just how fit you are.    That is perfect timing,I wouldn't waste it on a 'training' run.  1:25 or 1:26 4 weeks out would be more useful to my confidence in going sub-3 than a 6:52-paced half marathon with a fast finish.

A month before your big marathon?  F'in race it and find out just how fit you are.    That is perfect timing,I wouldn't waste it on a 'training' run.  1:25 or 1:26 4 weeks out would be more useful to my confidence in going sub-3 than a 6:52-paced half marathon with a fast finish.

+1. You may surprise yourself and run 6:20's for your 1/2.

as another sub 3:00 wannabe, the 1:26 half marathon is the measuring stick I'm thinking is the true indicator. I've run 1:27 a couple of times in marathon training with no taper.

Get off my porch

DoppleBock

I always loved doing the 1/2s with 10 @ MP and 3.1 as fast as I could.  When I could run 10 @ MP and 3.1 - 30 seconds per mile faster I knew I was "In-Like-Flynn"  This was with a 1 or 2 day taper from full training load.

An all out 1/2 marathon with a week taper and a week recovery - Seems like a lot of time to invest to get an indicator - The 5k fast finish is a 1-2 day taper and a 2-3 day recovery.

Long dead ... But my stench lingers !

bhearn