Thinking of doing a marathon...! (Read 209 times)

MsAmira

Hi everyone,

So I am a newbie runner, that being said I am not a couch potato! Ha! Ok... I've been running fairly consistently for about 6 months. I ran my first race back in December (a 10k) and it was good, I was not totally wiped! I am following a running schedule to try and run about 4 times a week, steadily increasing my distance. I am doing about 15-20km a week now.

Ok, I'll keep this short (this is not a forum on relationships), I am thinking of doing a marathon end of May (so 4 months away). I have not yet done a half marathon and will be doing that in March using that as a way to assess if I can actually do a full marathon. All this to say, what's a good way to tell if you are ready to run a marathon? I do not have a set pace I am aiming for, I honestly just want to finish the marathon (preferably under 5 hours).

Thanks everyone!!

GinnyinPA

A lot of it has to do with how much time and effort you are willing to commit to the training. Going from 10 mpw to 40-50 mpw is a big jump in time and energy. Doing an intermediate plan basically requires doing 2 one hour runs, two 90+ minute runs and 1 run of 120-210 minutes for a slow runner each week.

Marky_Mark_17

The only way is to actually try a marathon and see!!

In all seriousness, though, I'd see how you feel after the half marathon.  I ran 10+ half marathons before my first full marathon and it was definitely a big step up.  I trained for basically 6 months exclusively for the marathon and ran a lot more weekly mileage than I did when training for half marathons.  Try and get a beginner marathon training programme (there are plenty online) and see how you go with that.

3,000m: 9:07.7 (Nov-21) | 5,000m: 15:39 (Dec-19) | 10,000m: 32:34 (Mar-20)  

10km: 33:15 (Sep-19) | HM: 1:09:41 (May-21)* | FM: 2:41:41 (Oct-20)

* Net downhill course

Last race: Waterfront HM, 7 Apr, 1:15:48

Up next: Runway5, 4 May

"CONSISTENCY IS KING"

paul2432