training for first half (Read 182 times)

Iam Bre

I am pretty new to long distance running.  I started a training program on runkeeper to help me with a half marathon in December.  Things have been going great, slowly increasing mileage and pace until last week.  I started noticing that in between runs my knees are achy and then after my six mile run yesterday they were really achy.  I don't think I have an injury, but I don't want to get one either as I am really enjoying running.  I decided to take it easy today.  Tomorrow I am scheduled to do a 10 mile run which will be the longest I have done yet - should I go ahead and do it  ( I will be at the beach  so would be running in sand) or take a few more days off?

Some thoughts on the achiness are - I stopped cross training when I started the half marathon plan because it is running 4 days a week

I haven't been stretching after my runs

Yesterday I bought one of those massage sticks for my legs - I stopped in my local running store and spoke with a trainer there and he suggested to restart the cross training, stretch after each run and use the massage stick and maybe ice pack on my knees after runs.

Thanks in advance for any help!

Bre

Hey Iam Bre,   1st off great job on your progress so far!    to me the greatest part of running is, well, the running.   love it,  major part of my lifestyle & will continue to be until completely not able to, which of course hope it never happens.  so my main overall goal is to enjoy & do whatever I can do.  competing in races is like the cherry on top even for us non-elites.