Shoes for running in the sand ??? (Read 900 times)

Black-Toe-Nailed

Hey all,

I have to run between 6 and 8 mi on a beach (it's a race, Egmond Half Marathon, here in Holland)

My doubt is what shoes to wear: I have a pair of trail running shoes, race flats (no spikes) and a pair of K-Swiss Ultra Natural II, these are trainers (at least I sue them as such) and the sole is quite flat.

You can see them here:

http://www.runningahead.com/logs/f835d0a0d38342b0a4405028fa931877/equipment

I have no experience in running on beaches and  I would like some advice:

While the K-Swiss should perform good on sand, but I think that the extra traction of the trail running shoes  may be an advantage... I have tested them on dry sand but I have no idea what wet sand on a beach will be like.

I am concerned about such factors as the wet sand suctioning and slowing me down making the shoes heavier.

Thanks for the tips !

--

"If one can stick to the training throughout the many long years,
    then will power is no longer a problem. It's raining? That doesn't matter.
    I am tired? That's besides the point. It's simply that I just have to."

Emil Zatopek

Ostrich runner

Is it loose sand higher up on the beach or can you run in the water packed stuff down lower?

http://www.runningahead.com/groups/Indy/forum

Chris UK

He's worried about suction so it might be quicksand.

Sorry - British humour (sic) Wink

3000 miles

Sub 19:00 for 5K  05-03-13 Clee Prom 5K - 19:00:66 that was bloody close!

Sub-40:00 for 10K 17-03-13 Gainsborough 10K - 39:43

Sub 88:00 for HM

Jill_B

I fly.

I've only ever worn my regular running shoes when I run on the sand. 

Bring it on.

jerseyrunner

Half Fanatic 12680