Looking for Ultra coach (Read 126 times)

Stevepf

I am looking for a coach to help me prepare for the 2021 Comrades Marathon. I normally coach myself, but as I am new to Ultras, I thought to hire someone.

Some of my specific needs:

• Determine optimal run/walk strategy for the race
    • Provide training plan
    • Monitor my progress, and adjust training plan as appropriate
    • Respond to any questions I might have
    • And most important of all, give me an honest assessment as to my chances for a successful race, i.e. completion within the time limit, before I commit. Given the huge travel costs, this is going to be a one-time shot, so failure is not an option.

Would greatly appreciate a recommendation if you know of someone.

Thanks

wcrunner2

Are we there, yet?

That kind of coaching and support can be expensive.  Some of it, like optimal run/walk strategy, is as much experimenting yourself until you find what works best.  I engaged Ian Sharman to coach me for my first and was more than pleased with the final results.  Ian came to me via a personal recommendation from the runner who inspired me to try my first ultra.  You may remember Redsparkle from RWOL forums.  What's important is that you buy into the approach the coach takes, so Ian may not necessarily be the best fit.  Camille Herron, Michelle Yates, Ian Torrence, Meghan Arbogast, Krissy Moehl, and Ann Trason all offer coaching as well.

2024 Races:

03/09 - Livingston Oval Ultra 6-Hour, 22.88 miles

05/11 - D3 50K
            05/25 - What the Duck 12-Hour

06/17 - 6 Days in the Dome 12-Hour.

an amazing likeness

Check out the Relentless Running Project -- Ben & Candice are long time RunningAhead community members.

Acceptable at a dance, invaluable in a shipwreck.

DoppleBock

I do not know any coaches for Ultra-Running ... I am sure Ben and Candice could help you.  I am uncoachable.