Runner's Knee (Read 209 times)

Gizmo2019

Good luck...following and hope you recover fast. I also have an on and off knee issues but I’m just starting out. For me I think I’m not balanced. I push off of one leg too hard, plus my path is not always completely flat (slanted sidewalk). I’m also not as strong in my proximal muscles yet. Definitely agree on the sports ortho..they typically treat athletes.

Christirei

had my apt with the sports med doctor and basically, he got me an apt with a runner's PT, so that's good, i see her later this week

but all he had to say was no, it's not tendonitis, no don't wear the brace, yes, keep taking Aleve every day, and basically if i can deal with the pain then go ahead and run through it....not super helpufl

so last week i went out for 11 easy miles over the course of five days, and was fine, no pain. so Saturday i went out for eight easy miles, again, fine, no pain....so this morning i went out for six, and after four miles i had to stop. i ended up walking two miles back home. icing it now. hoping the PT can give me some insight into how i can make this go away and get back to running like i love

SMART Approach

I think you had right approch of running shorter distances coming back  (11 miles over 5 days). You had no pain so ideal thing to do would be to run 15 miles over  next 5 days and progress from there. Allow your body some time to adapt. It appeared the time off did help. You kind of immediately jumped back  into an 8 miler then and a 6 miler over 48 hours. Too fast of progression in my opinion. Hopefully, you can get some answers but I just think you need a bit more time.... step back a bit and progress back up slowly. You really need to get a handle on this now and allow your body to bounce back. Keep focusing on active recovery, moving and I think you will bounce back. Icing and and anti inflammatories are not the solution.

Run Coach. Recovery Coach. Founder of SMART Approach Training, Coaching & Recovery