first half marathon (Read 1112 times)

Hi everyone.  I'm relatively new to long distance running so I figured I would ask for some advice.  I've been training for two months for a half marathon that is 5 weeks away and I think it's time I set some goals, or at least think about what pace I can keep.  Last week I ran a 5k (only my second race since high school) to see what I could do and ended up running it in 21:11.  I was happy with the time, though I probably could have ran even better if I slowed down in the beginning (6:19 at mile 1).  

Anyway, plugging that time into one of those racing calculators suggests that I should run my half marathon at about 7:30 pace.  That seems very fast to me, especially since I've yet to even reach 13 miles on a run at any pace.  With the exception of the 5k, I haven't come close to that pace.  How can I prepare myself for that pace in the next 5 weeks?  Or should I set my sights lower?  I plan on increasing my long run to 13 miles 2 weeks before the race, and then doing 10 miles a week before the race.  

Also, I've noticed that the heat has a big effect on my pace during my long runs.  How should I approach the race if it gets to be 80 degrees or higher?  

an amazing likeness

It isn't my intent to try and give you any direct advice on what pace to run, so please don't read that into my reply.

Objectively, looking at your log, the two longest runs are both 10mi and run at 8:45 - 9:45 in pace.  That's the guidance you have -- and the question from that is "...could you hold that pace for another 3 miles?".  If the answer is "yes, easily", then you can run the 1/2 faster than your 10mi training runs.  If the answer is "no, not likely", then you will probably run the 1/2 slower than your 10mi training runs.