Clock time vs Chip Time? (Read 144 times)

ultrarunner2018

Hey all;

Maybe I'm a bit OCD here, but I have this curiosity:

I've been running timed races for 17 years, yet this only occurred to me today after running a 5K in my town.

The race used the Active Ipico timing system, which is an RFID tag on the bib and mats on the ground.

When I was about to cross the finish line, the clock read something like 24:50, but when I read my time on the results website, it was 25:50. So I'm asking myself whether I misread the big clock at the finish line, or was that clock just not properly synchronized with the computer that was running the chip timing system?

I suspect the latter, but for some reason, I had always thought that the clock at the finish was perfectly synchronized with the chip timing system (using a USB, Bluetooth, Wifi, or a wire) but apparently it is not, just as the clocks along the route are not perfectly synched. It all depends on whether or not each member of the timing team has synchronized his or her watch when the command to sync the clocks is given.

For large races like NYC, Boston, etc, I would assume that details like this are well thought out and executed, but for small town races like the one I ran today, not so much.

Ultrarunner

an amazing likeness

Ok, I'm going to express some negativity here...but WTF are you talking about.  The clock at finish is just a display, no more than your Garmin, smartphone, Timex or whatever you're looking at on your wrist.

They fire the gun, you start running, someone from the timing company clicks start on the timing 'computer', they all walk back to the finish line while chatting about the weather, their weekend, the traffic or whatever --- then they look down at the counter on their starting timer and manually put that time into the finish display.