What shoes are similar to Asics 1000 series? (Read 96 times)

Caitlin89

Hi

I'm new here and would be very grateful some advice regarding shoe choice. I've been wearing Asics 1170s for two years but don't find them particularly comfortable (they feel stiff in the middle which makes my feet start hurting if I'm going slowly)- my current pair are getting worn out so I went to a running shop to look for an alternative pair. The guy did quite a thorough gait analysis and noticed that I had a neutral gait in the 1170s but went back to overpronating when I tried some neutral shoes on. He therefore recommended sticking to something with a similar level of support to my current shoes (but didn't stock any in my size at the time). I've been looking online and there are some  good discount offers on at the minute on Brooks Ravenna 4, Brooks Adrenaline GTS13, and Saucony Omni 11. Does anyone happen to know if any of these models would have have a similar amount of support/stability to Asics 1170s?

Thanks

TripleBock

Not sure - But I find as my shoes age they get stiff.  I also find that the Asics 1000-1100 series, each offering is tweaked a little.  I have gone through 90+ pair in the last 10 years.  Lately I am pretty pissed at them because the mesh is eating away, making the shoe unwearable before the tread wears out.

I am suprised that the running store would not be your best place to find a suitable shoe.

I am fuller bodied than Dopplebock

arca

Hi, I've run in both asics 1000 series and brooks adrenaline GTS 13. They're pretty similar. The brooks are slightly lighter and maybe not quite as protective as the asics but basically they are pretty similar.

lagwagon

TB is right, the local running shop is probably your best bet.  If price is a primary concern, let them know up front and find out what they can do for you (if anything).