Importance of weekly mileage (Read 1645 times)

luke77

Hi guys,

I've been running for several years, and I'm thinking about doing a marthon and have a question of two.

In the past I've done some halfs without training very much, adding a 9-10 mile long run to my routine two 
    months before the race, then finishing the half in decent time but struggling a bit. I know the marathon is a 
    completely different animal though and it requires a lot more training. I've been upping my long run gradually,
    hitting 17.5 miles this morning, and I'm just now reading all the stuff I probably should have read two months ago. 

So, I've had knee problems in the past from overuse when I ran too many miles, and I'm hoping to avoid that. 
    Accordingly, I've dropped my running days to 4 per week, with three 5-mile runs and then my long run. I've been
    reading though (mostly on running forums, including this one) that what matters is not neccesairly the length of the 
    long run, at least after a certain point, but your overall miles per week. I guess this is to get your body prepared for
    the high mileage of the marthon. This has me a bit worried, since my mileage is only 15 per week plus whatever my 
    long run is that week (so 32.5 this week, but it won't get much higher than that unless I change the mileage on my 
    short days or add more running days). So I'm wondering, what specifically is the purpose of adding miles to your 
    short runs or running more frequently? It seems logical that building a base by running semi-frequently is important, 
    but after that, you are basically training for one long run. So it makes sense (superficially) that the most important 
    thing is to come close to replicating the run you are going to do when you do the marathon. What benefit do you get 
    from running more miles on non-long days?