new shoes (Read 150 times)

shawnmarie

I have my first full marathon in a week. I think I need new shoes, but was wondering if I wear them around this week (like at work) if they would have time to break in. If not, then I'll buy some afterwards. Someone told me not to run this close to theactual marathon this week. I'm new at this, so help 😊

FSocks

KillJoyFuckStick

If they are the exact same model as a known current pair you should be okay. Otherwise, stick with the horse that brought you.

You people have issues 

I have my first full marathon in a week. I think I need new shoes, but was wondering if I wear them around this week (like at work) if they would have time to break in. If not, then I'll buy some afterwards. Someone told me not to run this close to theactual marathon this week. I'm new at this, so help 😊

I usually start breaking in my new shoes at work & on shorter runs.   maybe wear 1/2  the day at work & then switch to my normal work shoes.    even running shoes need some kind of breaking in.  wearing new shoes & changing your normal eating/drinking routine are usually   #1 & #2 on the list of what not to do on marathon day.  but people still do it.  some get away with it & some dont.  and yes you can run this close to a marathon but you need to "taper" down.   Do some research  on how to properly taper for a marathon.  you will see lots of different ideas but there will be a noticable common thread

Joann Y

If they are the exact same model as a known current pair you should be okay. Otherwise, stick with the horse that brought you.

^^Agree. I've done this with a brand new pair on race day itself and been totally fine but I've been wearing the same make and model shoe for a few years and totally know what to expect from them.

spinach