Jim Schoemehl 5K Run/Walk Race report (Read 602 times)

Ran my first race ever (a 5K) today so here's the skinny... The Jim Schoemehl 5K Run/Walk is a charity run held by the local high school to raise money for ALS research. It's been going on for a while and my kids have run in it before but this year I thought it would be a great introduction to racing so I got up this morning and instead of my usual 5.55 miles I went down and signed up. The race was well organized across the parking lot, with various registration, donation, bagels/water tables around for pre and post race activities. I had gotten there right at 7am so I had plenty of time to jog a bit to warm up, stretch, and warm up a bit more. As a complete noob to racing my plan was to just follow the crowd around and do what they did (this worked out pretty well). I saw lots of familiar faces running the show (the kids who hang out with my daughter) and they were all friendly and encouraging. I know it's going to be about 65F and 65% relative humidity for the race. Just before 8am I follow the crowd up to the starting line and fall in somewhere around the middle of the pack. As I stand around seeing everyone talking and joking around, I realize how social this kind of thing is and feel a quiet rush of low-grade euphoria flowing around me -- it's quite cool to be a part of this common thread with so much diversity: the moms and dads pushing strollers, high school track stars, head-to-toe Nike cladded master class bad-asses, and regular old Joe's like me. Onnnnnnnnnnk! WTF was that? Oh I see, we're moving now. Better start my watch... Oh wait, I'm not to the start line yet, should I wait? OK ... NOW! Holy crap we're moving slow and it's crowded. I suppose I'll wait til things thin out a bit before I speed up (I remember I'm not supposed to go out fast and then crash later, so the crowd is probably a good thing). About a half mile later I check my watch for my HR and time to see how I'm doing. 168. Too high? na