Need a GPS Watch but clueless (Read 224 times)

omdno1

Hi guys,

I am pretty new to smart technology and have recently noticed GPS watches.

Like many, I'm in desperate need of trying to find new, fresh routes for my half marathon training. Getting pretty bored with the same 3 mile courses I run and need some variety. Maybe I'm a bit behind the times driving around, wasting gas, trying to create custom routes. And I usually just settle with the standard "down and back" mindless course. I was playing with mapmyrun.com the other day and they will create routes for you, a little buggy but, nonetheless, pretty cool.

So, a little light went off in my head.

My question here is, do any of you know if we are so far ahead these days to have the ability to upload these maps to a GPS watch and have the watch direct you via Bluetooth headset, turn by turn directions so you don't get lost. That would be really cool and soooo useful for me.

Also, I have no interest in carrying a clunky phone with me so, I'm looking for a watch that works independently if possible. Any suggestions of anything else similar to this technology, would be greatly appreciated.

thanks,

Jeff

Brrrrrrr

Uffda

I have a Polar M400, and I can't find anywhere on their site that allows you to upload a map. They do have the "Return to Home" feature, which means you basically can go wherever you want and then use that screen like a compass to get back to your start location.

- Andrew

I just go run, and use my GPS watch (Garmin Forerunner 310xt) to measure how far and how fast.  I generally go out the door with an idea of how far and what direction.  Today, for example, I wanted to run 6 or 7 miles or maybe a little farther "thataway".  I started out, stopped to eat some fresh wild raspberries, continued, swatted many deer flies, turned around when I decided I did not feel like running through mud, and finished with 6.7 miles.